Navratri, the sanctified festival of Hindu religion is celebrated twice in a year for nine days. It is known as on Chaitra Navratri (In the month of March or April) and Sharad Navratri (In the month of September or October). This nine days festival is emblem of Goddess Durga. On this divine festival, people worship nine forms of Maa Durga and do fast during nine days occasion.

Goddess Durga, also called by people as Maa Shakti, removes sufferings of humans and blesses everyone from fortune. Navratri here is formed by two words; Nav i.e. Nine and Ratri i.e. Night.

Navratri falls twice in a year but why?

As we know this auspicious festival wafts two times; in the beginning of spring and in the beginning of winter season. As per Hindu religion belief, both seasons are good and sacred to worship the providential energy and power of Goddess Durga, who effigies as the providential power. Hindu religion says that Goddess of Power endows the earth with vigor to move around the sun and maintain the poise of universe.

Navratri 2015

In the year of 2015, the nine days Navratri festival will begin from October 13th and finish on October 22nd, 2015. This Navratri is known as Vasanta Navratri.

Complete Process of Navratri Celebration

The celebration starts with Maa Durga Pooja in the morning (Muhurat Time), when sun sparkle the light by ripping the darkness of night. And, when the sky is lost in the frenzy look of moon, people gather and embrace with dancing for whole night. People specially play Garba during nine days with two small and thin sticks and enjoy each and every moment with joviality. Gujrat is famous for Navratri with Garba dance, music, and the way they perform Dandiya or Garba, is fabulous.
On the first day of Navratri, people sow barley seeds and on ninth day, Kanya Pooja takes place and idol of Goddes Durga is dispersed in the water.

Navratri’s Nine Nights

This auspicious Hindu festival is known for its nine days celebration and worship of Goddess Durga; Goddess of Wealth, clemency, prosperity, power and knowledge and all humans are considered to her children.

First three days, Goddess Durga is worshiped, who abrade all your misconducts, impurities and faults.

Next three days are referred to Goddess Laxmi, who is deity of wealth and gives peace and wealth.

Another three days come for worshipping Goddess Saraswati, who is the Goddess of learning and bless with success and wisdom.

Nav Durga Roop in Navratri

1) Goddess Shailputri


Goddess Shailputri is wife of Lord Shiva. She previously took birth as Goddess Sati and after the death of Goddess Sati, she was born as Parvati, daughter of Himalaya. That’s why she is called as Shailputri. She depicts in the picture as carrying Trishul in right hand, lotus flower in the left and mounted upon a Bull.

2) Goddess Brahmacharini


Goddess Parvati’s unmarried look is worshiped as Goddess Brahmacharini. She is delineated as carrying rosary in right hand and Kamandal in left and worshiped on the second day of Navratri. She is the Goddess with diving and magnificent look. She devoted herself in penance of Lord Shiva. She is the Goddess of happiness, prosperity and peace.

3) Goddess Chandraghanta


Goddess Chandraghanta is the third avatar of Maa Shakti. She has half moon situated on her forehead in the shape of bell. She governs the planet Shukra (Venus). The Goddess is depicted with all weapons and ready for war. She is known for serenity, wisdom and affluence. Chandraghanta means Chandra = Half Moon and Ghanta = bell. She is mounted over Tigress and has ten hands. Her eight hands depicts as holding weapons and two hands in the posture of giving boon.

4) Goddess Kushmanda


On the fourth day of Navratri, Goddess Kushmanda is worshiped. She is the erector of universe. She is mounted on lioness. She has eight hands, holding weapons, rosary and Kamndal. She has glare through which she spread the light in every direction and lucent the world with her glitter.

5) Goddess Skandamata


She is the fifth form of Goddess Durga and worshiped on fifth day of Navratri. The Goddess Parvati was called by the name Skandamata after becoming the mother of Kartikeya. Kartikeya was the second son of Lord Shiva-Goddess Parvati and he was known as God of war and victory. His ride is peacock. Goddess Skandamata’s mount is fierce lion and she is depicted as her son sits on her lap, holding him with her right hand. She has four hands; on her upper two hands, she holds the Lotus flower, one hand has Lord Skanda and another one is depicted as granting boons. She is also known as Goddess Padmasana because she sits on Lotus flower. She is the Goddess of knowledge and mercy.

6) Goddess Katyayani


Goddess Katyayani is worshiped on the sixth day. There is a folk tale for the avatar of Katyayani, a sage Kata, who did austerities to get the grace of the Goddess. Goddess Durga granted his wish and took birth at the home of Kata and called as Katyayani. She took this avatar for killing daemon Mahishasura. This is the most brutal avatar of Goddess Durga and known as Mahishasur Mardini.

7) Goddess Kaalratri


The seventh form of Goddess Durga, who took the avatar of Kalaratri to destroy the daemons Shumbha and Nishumbha. The fiercest form of Goddess Parvati, has dark complexion and mounts on donkey. She holds the iron hook and sword in her left hands and her right hands are in “Abhaya and Varada Mudra”.

8) Goddess Maha Gauri


She is worshiped on eighth day of Navratri and removes all the sins. She is calm and peace-loving Goddess. When Lord Shiva piously cleared her with Ganga water, after her long penance, to remove her darkness, she is called as Maha Gauri. She got the dark complexion due to long penance in the forest of Himalaya. She mounts on a bull and wears white cloths. She has four hands.

9) Goddess Siddhidatri


Holy book ‘Devi Bhagvata Purana’ tells that Goddess Shakti blessed Lord Shiva with all Siddhis and due to her blessings, his half body has a form of female and half became male. With her Siddhidatri form, she blesses all the Gods, Yogis, saints etc. She has all the supernatural healing powers. She sits on Lotus and mounts on lion. She has four hands; one right hand has Chakra and other right hand has Gada; one left hand has Shankh and other left has lotus flower.