Union territories are those places which are governed by union government unlike other states which are governed by the government elected by locals. Union Territories including Pondicherry and New Delhi also have the option of electing a chief minister. Each union territory is employed with an administrator or lieutenant-governor by the President of India.

There are seven union territories in India which are governed by their respective government. These places hold great stories in various fields including history, politics, infrastructures, tourism, education etc.

Union Territories of India

Map of States and Union Territories of India

1.    NCT Delhi
Delhi is the national capital territory. This city is located at the heart of India. Delhi’s chief minister is Mrs. Sheila Dixit and currently under the governance of lieutenant-governor Najeeb Jung. This city is a beautiful place to visit and reside.

2.    Pondicherry (Puducherry)
Pondicherry is located in the state of Tamilnadu. This city is working under the governance of lieutenant-governor Virendra Kataria. The chief Minister of Pondicherry is N. Rangaswamy. This city located near the coast of Bay of Bengal and hence mostly visited for such activities.

3.    Chandigarh
Chandigarh is located in the state of Haryana and was the first planned city of India after independence. Mr. Shivraj V. Patil is the Administrator of this union territory. Chandigarh is awarded for the cleanest city in India and it is reformed nicely to attract tourism and multi nationals.

4.    Andaman and Nicobar
Andaman and Nicobar Islands are located at the junction of Andaman Sea and Bay of Bengal. This place is famous for tourism and tribal activities. The state is under governance of lieutenant-governor A.K. Singh.

5.    Lakshdweep
Lakshdweep is a group of islets located in Arabian Sea about a distance of 220 to 400 kms off the south western coast. This state has the capital Kavaratti and governed by lieutenant-governor H. Rajesh Prasad IAS.

6.    Daman and Diu
Daman and Diu is situated near the coast of Arabian Sea is a union territory of India. The Administrator of this place is Mr. B.S. Bhalla IAS. Earlier, this place was the part of Portugal about 450 years ago. Currently only some elder citizens residing in Daman and Diu can understand Portuguese.

7.    Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Dadra and Nagar Haveli are located near the Arabian Sea coast. In earlier times, this place was under the regulations of Koli chiefs who were debackeled by the Hindu kings of Jawhar and Ramnagar. Currently, Mr. B.S. Bhalla IAS is the Administrator Governor of this place. This is a famous tourist spot also.

Capital, Ruling Party and Governor of Union Territories of India

S.No Union Territories Capitals Ruling Party Governor
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair UPA A.K. Singh
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh UPA Shivraj V. Patil
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa UPA B.S. Bhalla
4 Daman and Diu Daman UPA B.S. Bhalla
5 Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi) Delhi UPA Najeeb Jung.
6 Lakshadweep Kavaratti UPA H. Rajesh Prasad
7 Puducherry (Pondicherry) Pondicherry UPA Virendra Kataria