Third FrontThe Parliamentary election is going to come soon any time in May 2014. The election will decide who will be the next face of Prime Minister in India. At the current time there are two major parties in the front including BJP and the Congress party but there is another one that is Third Front party, NDA. It is the National Democratic Alliance party which is the centre right coalition of political parties in India.

The Party was formed in 1998. There are eleven parties in the NDA coalition currently, which is in the opposition in the union parliament and holds power in many different states.  The question is whether the third front is important in the Parliamentary election of 2014 or not?

Because both the Communist Party of Indian including CPI and CPI (M) have joined hands to launch The Third Front to fight the Parliament election. So far about the Third Front, it is the party that signifies a different group apart from the main two. The Third Front in the past was part of both the alliances whether it was led by BJP or Congress but it parted away from Congress over the Indo-US nuclear deal and voted against it along with BJP, before that it supported the United Progressive Alliance.

Even though it is still not decided what the Third Front will do and what policies it implements until it comes into the power but it seems less possible because there are two Fronts already standing. The proposed Third Front may include The AIADMK, TDP, JD(S) and TRS. Its big catch is BSP but it is still not decided whether it would come or not.

There is one worthwhile role that The Third Front could play, which both two main front is not able to do so and that is to maintain a secular polity. On the other hand if third Front might come into the power then it could help in pressuring the Indian government to follow an independent policy or more secular, which should be less influenced by US interests.

Bharatiya Janata Party 117 MPs
Shiv Sena – Maharashtra 11 MPs
Shiromani Akali Dal 4 MPs
Nagaland People’s Front 1 MP
Haryana Janhit Congress 1 MP
Republican Party of India 0
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party 0
Asom Gana Parishad 1 MP
National People’s Party 0
Gorkha Janmukti Morcha 0
Indian National Congress 206 MPs
Nationalist Congress Party 9 MPs
Rashtriya Lok Dal 5 MPs
Jammu & Kashmir National Conference 3 MPs
Indian Union Muslim League 3 MPs
Kerala Congress 1 MP
Sikkim Democratic Front 1 MP
All India United Democratic Front 1 MP
Outside support is provided by: MP’s
Samajwadi Party 22 MPs
Bahujan Samaj Party 21 MPs
Rashtriya Janata Dal 4 MPs