Election commission of India announced the dates for Lok Sabha election starting from April 7th till May 12th 2014 and the counting of the votes will be done on 16th May 2014. A team led by CEC V S Sampath, joined by two Election Commissioners HS Brahma and Dr Asim Zaidi   made announcement from Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi.


This time for general elections more than 814 million people are eligible to cast vote which are 97 million more than the previous 2009 elections. The model code of conduct comes into power immediately which means the government cannot make any policy announcement. The Election will be done in 9 phases around the country.

Code made certain changes in the rules from the previous election 2009, here are the major points mentioned by them:

  • Election will be held in 9 poll days starting from 9th April.
  • 9 poll days are April 7, 9, 10, 12, 17, 24, 30, May 7 and 12.
  • 9 polls will cover 543 constituencies and respective constituencies also.
  • Second Phase poll on April 9 to cover seven constituencies in five states.
  • Third phase on 10 covers 14 states and 92 constituencies.
  • April 12 reserve for fourth phase poll covering three states and five constituencies.
  • Fifth phase poll day is 17 April covering 13 states and 127 PCs.
  • On 24 April sixth phase of poll will be held covering 12 states and 117 parliamentary constituencies.
  • Seventh poll day is 30 April covering nine states and 89 PCs.
  • May 7 will be Eighth poll day covering seven states and 64 constituencies.
  • And 12 May will be final poll day covering three states and 41 PCs.
  • EC said that all Naxal areas seats will be covered on same days.
  • UP and Bihar poll days are same.
  • Capital and Haryana will have poll on April 10.
  • EC appeals to candidates not to use any words and action that might hurt other opponent candidates.
  • There will check posts and flying squads to keep an on money power CEC.
  • Commission also took measure to take expenditure monitoring.
  • The counting of polls will be done on 11116th May
  • New government will formed after 31 May